Basic Principles of Ayurveda

Basic Principles of Ayurveda

Basic Principles of Ayurveda

Ayurveda (the science of life) is one of the branches of Vedas. It is regarded as Upaveda of Rigveda or Atharva-Veda but, in real terms, it is a stream of the knowledge coming down from generation to generation since eternity, parallel to the Vedic Literature that is why its emergence has been said to be from the Creator, Brahma himself prior to the creation. It is called eternal because nobody knows when it was not there. All this shows its long tradition and deep attachment to the Indian culture.

Here we are starting a series of articles on Ayurveda, it will make our knowledge about Ayurvedic treatments more meaningful and worthy of use, once we know the basic principles of Ayurveda. Let’s start:

Basic Principles of Ayurveda comprise of :

1.The TriGunas: Three Fundamental universal energies : viz – Satva ,Rajas and Tamas

2.The PancaMahabhutas: Five basic elements viz.-Akasha (Space),Vayu (Air),Teja or Agni(Fire),Jala(Water) and Prithvi (Earth)

3.The TriDosas: Three Body Humours viz.-Vata,Pitta and Kapha

4.The SaptaDhatus: Seven types of body tissues :viz.- Rasa (fluid) Dhatu, Rakta(blood) Dhatu, Mamsa Dhatu, Meda(fat) Dhatu, Asthi Dhatu,Majja Dhatu and Sukra Dhatu

5.The Trayodosa Agni: Thirteen types of digestive fires : viz.-Jatharagni (gastric fire), SaptaDhatvagni and PancaBhutagni

6.The TriMalas: Three types of Body Wastes :viz.-Purisa (faeces),Mutra (urine) and Sveda (sweat)

In the next Article we are going to talk about, its meaning, purpose and subject-matter of Ayurveda.

Add Comment